Mund-Stück 2

Nata and Sam were in the audience when the artists Ant Hampton and Rita Paul’s performed MUND-STÜCK at Theater Rampe. During the conversation afterwards, they spontaneously responded to the artists’ invitation to create their own version of MUNDSTÜCK. And thus, like Rita and Ant before them, to approach the German language. So Nata and Sam travelled through Germany for a week. With a rudimentary knowledge of German and audio recorders in their luggage. With the little German they knew, they asked the people they met a question: »What do you think should be said? « They explained to them that they would record the answers so that they could later learn them by heart and thus become familiar with the language. Nata and Sam will use these texts to develop their performance, with which they will appear on stage for the first time.

Konzept: Ant Hampton und Rita Pauls

Performance: Nata und Sam

 

Mittwoch, 22. Juli, abends

Donnerstag, 23. Juli, abends

Freitag 24. Juli, abends

Theater Rampe

Mehr Informationen

Performance by Ant Hampton and Rita Pauls in a new version by Nata and Sam.

 

British performance artist Ant Hampton and Argentinean author and actress Rita Pauls hitchhiked across Germany together. With the little German they had, they asked the people who took them along: “What do you think needs to be said?

 

In the original performance Mund-Stück these answers are reproduced from the mouths of Ant and Rita – literally, with all pauses for breath and thought, the sound of voices and accents. Right at the beginning of their work, Ant and Rita realized that the performance would primarily address questions of migration and social expectation. They therefore planned to repeat the project of artists with different cultural and linguistic backgrounds, whose motivation to engage with a country and learn its language therefore seems even more urgent. The Mund-Stück project questions the understanding of adaptation to a culture primarily as a submissive act.

 

Nata and Sam attended a performance of Mund-Stück in Stuttgart and were inspired by the idea of realizing their own version of the performance, traveling through Germany following the same protocol and asking all the people they meet along the way the same question: “What do you think should be said? With a rudimentary knowledge of German and an audio recorder in their luggage, they set off and let the people they met show them the country and tell them about it. Then Nata and Sam learned the answers by heart, literally, and now they speak and sing the answers back to us.

Nata und Sam

The two brothers Nata and Sam were born in Iran in 1994 as children of Afghan parents. They have lived in Germany for five years. They have been engaged in music, poetry and history all their lives.

© Nata und Sam

Ant Hampton

The British artist Ant Hampton was born in 1975. He is the founder of Rotozaza (1998-2009), a project that includes performance, theatre, installation art, intervention and script-based works. Together with Silvia Mercuriali and other artists*, he has realized more than 20 Rotozaza productions in various countries and languages, most of them with amateur performers*, who deliberately acted in unrehearsed performance situations.

In 2007 Ant Hampton began to involve the audience in his plays and since then has been touring internationally with his Autoteatro series. His further work, which he creates together with Greg McLaren under the title “The Other People” (La Otra Gente), includes the exploration of “live portraiture”. These are so-called “structured encounters” with people from an environment far removed from the theatre.

Rita Pauls

Rita Pauls was born in Buenos Aires in 1993. She studied literature and philosophy at the Universidad de Buenos Aires with a focus on literary theory. As a performer, she has appeared in productions from all over the world: “The Natural State” (director: Paula Salomón, ARG), “Multitude” (director: Federico León, ARG), “Second Time” (director: Dora García, Spain) and “Fantasía soneto después de una lectura de (dance)” (director: Dudú Alcón Quintanilha, Brazil) dealt with language, the creation and invention of intimacy and the coping with uncontrolled performative situations.

Currently, Rita Paul’s collaborator in the research project “The Bardo, Soft Eyes”, led by the Argentinean experimental dramaturgist Paula Salomón. In addition, Rita Pauls gives workshops (poetry, literature, French as a foreign language) in spaces beyond the established art scene of Buenos Aires, including psychiatric clinics, private homes and independent cultural centers. Rita Pauls lives as a performer and author in Buenos Aires.

Mund-Stück 2

Nata und Sam waren im Publikum, als die Künstler*innen Ant Hampton und Rita Pauls Mund-Stück performten. Beim Gespräch danach reagierten sie spontan auf die Einladung der Künstler*innen, eine eigene Version 2 von Mund-Stück zu erarbeiten. Also fahren Nata und Sam per Anhalter durch Deutschland. Mit rudimentären Deutschkenntnissen und Audiorekorder im Gepäck lassen sie sich von ihren Fahrgelegenheiten Deutschland zeigen und darüber erzählen. Ihr Ausgangspunkt ist die Grenze, die für sie als Geflüchtete von existenzieller Bedeutung ist. Aus der Recherchereise entwickeln sie eine Performance.

Mehr Informationen

Performance von Ant Hampton und Rita Pauls in einer neuen Version von Nata und Sam.

 

Der britische Performancekünstler Ant Hampton und die argentinische Autorin und Schauspielerin Rita Pauls reisten gemeinsam per Anhalter kreuz und quer durch Deutschland. Mit dem wenigen Deutsch, über das sie verfügten, fragten sie die Menschen, die sie mitnahmen: »Was müsste Ihrer Meinung nach mal gesagt werden?«

 

In der originalen Performance Mund-Stück werden diese Antworten aus dem Mund von Ant und Rita wiedergegeben – wortwörtlich, mit allen Atem- und Denkpausen, dem Klang der Stimmen und den Akzenten. Bereits zu Beginn ihrer Arbeit stellten Ant und Rita fest, dass die Performance vor allem Fragen nach Migration und gesellschaftlicher Erwartung aufgreifen würde. Sie planten deshalb die Wiederholung des Projekts von Künstler*innen mit unterschiedlichen kulturellen und sprachlichen Hintergründen, deren Motivation, sich mit einem Land zu beschäftigen und dessen Sprache zu erlernen, daher als noch dringlicher erscheint. Das Projekt Mund-Stück stellt das Verständnis von Anpassung an eine Kultur in erster Linie als eine unterwürfige Handlung infrage.

 

Nata und Sam haben eine Aufführung von Mund-Stück in Stuttgart besucht und waren von der Idee begeistert, ihre eigene Version der Performance zu realisieren, nach dem gleichen Protokoll durch Deutschland zu reisen und allen Menschen, denen sie unterwegs begegnen, die gleiche Frage zu stellen: »Was müsste Ihrer Meinung nach mal gesagt werden?« Mit rudimentären Deutschkenntnissen und Audiorekorder im Gepäck brachen sie auf und ließen sich von den Menschen, die sie trafen, das Land zeigen und darüber erzählen. Anschließend lernten Nata und Sam die Antworten auswendig, wörtlich, und nun sprechen und singen sie uns die Antworten zurück.

Nata und Sam

Die beiden Brüder Nata und Sam wurden als Kinder afghanischer Eltern im Jahr 1994 im Iran geboren. Seit fünf Jahren leben sie in Deutschland. Sie beschäftigen sich schon ihr Leben lang mit Musik, Poesie und Geschichte.

© Nata und Sam

Ant Hampton

Der britische Künstler Ant Hampton wurde 1975 geboren. Er ist Gründer von Rotozaza (1998-2009), einem Projekt, das Performance, Theater, Installationskunst, Intervention und schriftbasierte Arbeiten umfasst. Gemeinsam mit Silvia Mercuriali und anderen Künstler*innen realisierte er in verschiedensten Ländern und Sprachen mehr als 20 Rotozaza-Produktionen, die meisten davon mit Laien-Performer*innen, die in bewusst ungeprobten Performance-Situationen agierten.

2007 begann Ant Hampton, das Publikum in seine Stücke miteinzubinden und tourt seitdem international mit seiner Autoteatro-Serie. Seine weitere Arbeit, die er zusammen mit Greg McLaren gestaltet unter dem Titel »The Other People« (La Otra Gente) beinhaltet die Erkundung von »live portraiture«. Dabei handelt es sich um sogenannte »strukturierte Begegnungen« mit Personen aus einem theaterfernen Umfeld.

 

Rita Pauls

Rita Pauls wurde 1993 in Buenos Aires geboren. Sie studierte an der Universidad de Buenos Aires Literaturwissenschaft und Philosophie mit dem Fokus auf Literaturtheorie. Als Performerin war sie in Produktionen aus den unterschiedlichsten Teilen der Welt zu erleben: »The Natural State« (Regie: Paula Salomón, ARG), »Multitude« (Regie: Federico León, ARG), »Second Time« (Regie: Dora García, Spanien) und »Fantasía soneto después de una lectura de (dance)« (Regie: Dudú Alcón Quintanilha, Brasilien) beschäftigten sich mit der Sprache, der Erschaffung und Erfindung von Intimität und der Bewältigung nicht-kontrollierter performativer Situationen.

Aktuell ist Rita Pauls Mitarbeiterin des Forschungsprojekts »The Bardo, Soft Eyes«, geleitet von der argentinischen, experimentell arbeitenden Dramaturgin Paula Salomón. Darüber hinaus gibt Rita Pauls Workshops (Lyrik, Literatur, Französisch als Fremdsprache) in Räumen jenseits der etablierten Kunstszene von Buenos Aires, darunter sind psychiatrische Kliniken, Privathäuser und freie Kulturzentren. Rita Pauls lebt als Performerin und Autorin in Buenos Aires.